Pontardawe Golf Club
A hidden gem with spectacular panoramic views

Another Great Success Pontardawe Golf Club 2014 Presentation Evening

Friday 30th of January 2015 21:56
Steffan Rowe Club Champion 2014

Pontardawe Golf Club presentation evening saw the lounge and bar packed to capacity for the most prestigious event in the golfing calendar.

Steffan Rowe won the 2014 Club Championship and was a very popular, worthy winner, out playing all who entered. Steffan was extremely proud to be crowned Club Champion and see his name join his father's on the club champions board. Anne Evans was the well deserved winner of the Ladies club championship, nett and gross competitions. Jac Rogers was the winner of the Junior boys club championship while his sister Lauren Rogers took the Junior girls club championship. Most improved lady golfer of the year went to Victoria Evans and deservedly so. Victoria had a great season, which showed in her competition results which is reflected in her handicap being significantly reduced.

Congratulations to all who entered club competitions throughout the 2014 season and in particular to those individuals and teams that were successful in posting some great scores which led to them being presented with some stunning cut glass trophies and plaques.

The stars of the show were undoubtedly the juniors who are the future of the club. They not only received trophies for their individual club competition achievements, but successfully represented Pontardawe Golf Club in numerous team and individual competitions at various levels throughout the country. A Special mention to juniors Jac Rogers and Dylan Thomas who have been selected for the Golfing Union of Wales South West Academy Squad. They are an absolute tribute to the club and to say we have some potential golf superstars would be an understatement. Well done to all the juniors !

The evening was extremely well supported by all sections of the club, with Male, Lady and Junior sections all strengthening during the course of the 2014 season and producing high entry numbers in all club competitions. The standard of golf was exceptionally high in all competitions and was reflected in some terrific competition scores posted.

The presentations were made by the Club President Alun Evans and the 2014 Lady Captain Anwen Davies assisted by 2015 club captain Meirion Davies and handicap secretary Viv Jones.

The 2015 club captain Merion Davies closed the evening by not only thanking everybody present at the evening for their support, but to the whole of the club membership for their support and participation in the seasons club competitions.

It only remains to thank the team that made all this great golf possible, Jamie Probert and his ground staff team. They worked tirelessly to provide Pontardawe Golf Club with one of the finest courses in South Wales. The immaculate manicuring and setting up of the course provided some of the most enjoyable challenging golf you could ever ask for.



Hole in one

Dylan Thomas x 2

Geraint Davies

Andrew Watson

Keith Morris

Kevin Phillips


Junior Winners

Order of MeritWinner - Jac Rogers Runner Up - Dylan Thomas

Anne Evans Cup Winners - Dylan Thomas & Joe Davies Runners Up - Jac Rogers & Daffydd Williams

Craig Rees MemorialWinner - Joe Davies Runner Up - Jac Rogers

Probus Cup - Joe Davies Runner Up - Daffydd Williams

Junior Scratch Matchplay Winner - Dylan Thomas

Mayors Cup Winner - Ioan Rowe Runner Up - Llur Davies

Jnr. Challenge Shield Winner - Jac Rogers Runner Up - Dylan Thomas

Jnr. Championship Gross Boys Winner- Jac Rogers Runner Up - Dylan Thomas

Jnr. Championship Net Boys Winner - Joe Davies Runner Up - Jac Rogers

Jnr. Girls Championship Gross Girls Winner- Lauren Rogers Runner Up - Georgia Gibson

Jnr. Girls Championship Net Girls Winner - Megan Rowe Runner Up - Nia Probert


Ladies Winners

Bronze Champion Winner - Carol Davies

Pegler Cup - Joe Power

Spring County Nett Winner - Anne James

Spring County Bronze Winner - Julie Davies

Gethin Jones Cup Winner - Janet Francis Runner Up - Anne James

California Cup Winner - Kathy McGibney Runner Up - Sybil Thomas

Dr Grice Cup Winner - Rhian Jones Runner Up - Julie Davies

A Howells Eclec Winner - Anne James Runner Up - Annette Griffiths

Elizabeth Jenner Cup Winner - Sally JonesRunner Up - Kathy McGibney

Gwen Perrott Cup Winner - Jo Power Runner Up - Janet Francis

Morgan Bowl Winners - M Evans & A Evans Runners Up - S Thomas & J Griffiths

Mona Evans Best Qualifying Round - Victoria Evans

Mona Evans Winner - Kathy McGibney Runner Up - Julie Davies

Presidents Cup Winner - Carol Davies Runner Up - Rhian Jones

Welcome Trophy Winner - Janet Francis

Tuesday Winter League Winner - Sybil Thomas Runner Up - Julie Davies

Saturday Winter League Winner - Annette Griffiths Runner Up - Kathy McGibney

Most Improved Golfer - Victoria Evans

Club Championship Nett Winner - Anne EvansRunner Up - Victoria Evans

Club Championship Gross Winner - Anne EvansRunner Up - Abigail Dyment-Jones


Mens Winners

April Medal Winner - Mark Carney Runner Up - Nigel Morgan

April Stableford Winner - Steve Rees Runner Up - Richard Mills

May Stableford Winner - Mark A Rees Runner Up - Mark T Rees

June Medal Winner - Jac Rogers Runner Up - Chris Oldroyd

June Stableford Winner - Paul Newman Runner Up - Dylan Thomas

July Medal Winner - Andrew GibsonRunner Up - Alan Rees

August Medal Winner - Stephen A Jones Runner Up - Steffan Harris

August Stableford Winner- Dylan Thomas Runner Up - Jamie Probert

September Medal Winner - Alan Rees Runner Up - Richard Mills

September Stableford Winner - Rhodri Prichard Runner Up - Steve Rees

Summer Cup Winner - Leigh Allen Runner Up - Leighton Davies

Welsh Team Individual Handicap Championship Winner (0 - 12 Category)- Jamie Probert

Welsh Team Championship Winners (0 - 12 Category) - Rhydian Howells & Andrew Evans

Welsh Team Individual Handicap Championship Winner (13 - 28 Category) - Rhodri Jones

Welsh Team Championship Winners Terrence Ely, & Richard Mills, Rhydian Howells & Andrew Evans

MVN Seniors Winner - Colin Ede Runner Up - Glen Sandbrook

Cefn Llan Bowl Winners - Andrew Griffiths & Chris StoneRunners Up - Dylan Thomas & Jac Rogers

Tom Llwellyn Putter Winner - Alan Richards Runner Up - Tony Gifford

D R Whitson Cup Winner - Simon Richards Runner Up - Steffan Rowe

D R Jenkins Medal Winner- Huw Preece Runner Up - Leighton Jones

Franson Cup Winner - Martyn Hillier Runner Up - James Richards

Viv Jones Cup Winner - Gwynhefin Evans Runner Up - Paul Stephens

Vivian Cup Winner - Paul Stephens Runner Up - Kevin McMahon

Yorath Cup Winners - Matthew Williams & Meirwen Watts Runners Up - Michael Rhys Jones & Ann Jones

Presidents Cup Winner - Alun H Thomas Runner Up - Leighton Baker

Gilbertson Cup Winner - Roger Phillips Runner Up - Clive Melin

Captains Cup Winner - Michael Rhys Jones Runner Up- Rhydian Howells

Captains Cup (Div 1)Winner - John Simons Runner Up - Clive Mellin

Captains Cup (Div 2)Winner- Vince Griffiths Runner Up - Michael Davies

Matchplay Medal Winner - Kerry Jones Runner Up - Nigel Doyle

Doug Roberts Winners - Julian Ellis & Steve Ellis Runners Up - Martyn Leonard & Mark T Rees

Silver Salver Winner - Eddie Morgan Runner Up - Steve Elliot

Club Championship Winner- Steffan Rowe Runner Up - Daniel Jones


That's a very impressive list of Winners and Runners up. Just goes to show how much organisation goes on behind the scenes to run competitions.!

 To see a full album of photo's taken on the night go to 



Forthcoming Events

Contact Us

Pontardawe Golf Club
Cefn Llan

01792 863118